Tags

, , , ,

Pardon the poor pun, but today my ten-year US visa was delivered – valid till June 2020, eish! This, five weeks to the day from my landing in Toronto, where I will be met at the airport by a woman who left here much earlier in the year as my partner and girl-friend and who returns here with me, at the end of August, as my wife-to-be.

This has been quite a year, so far: divorce concluded, after a five-year struggle; the house cleaned up, put on the market, and sold; a thirteen-year tenure at the NBI wrapped up and a new beginning made as a self-employed consultant; a novel finally taking shape on the stocks; a wedding in the offing – and Rob’s permanent residence application for South Africa getting under way, while my Canadian permanent residence is in the final stages of (hopefully) approval.

Here’s a metaphor: on Tuesday, for the first time, I took the new Gautrain to Oliver Tambo international airport: a 15 minute drive early in the morning to the Sandton station; and 15 minutes from Sandton to ORT. No traffic; no hassle; no road-rage; no delay. Just a blast into the future, on high-speed rails.

2010 – feel it, it’s happening!

Gautrain at ORT

