The batteries for the Lumix and the Nikon have been fully charged. Spare memory cards have been stowed. I have tried out the 2x teleconverter with the 18-200mm zoom lens: it seems to work perfectly. His and hers binoculars are packed. A visit to the mall: men’s and women’s shorts; a water bottle and head-lamp for me, sunglasses from Cape Union Mart. Dis-Chem for bug spray, eye-drops, and other requisites.

Our bags are packed, money counted – rands and US dollars. Passports in order. Rob’s paperwork, to exit the country hopefully without having to pay a fine – her South African visa has expired but her application for residence is in process.

Reading matter. Walking shoes and sandals. Bathing costumes (mine has gone amiss, so I have packed gym shorts!).

Just after 10 tomorrow morning we fly to Maun; then a short 15 minute flight to Oddballs camp to begin our honeymoon.

Tomorrow, I said to Rob this morning, is our one-week-a-versary.

We are good to go, my wife and I!

