And so the weary travellers return, waiting at the Cape Town airport for the two-hour flight home – Rob, Cynthia, and me. A perfect day in the Mother City, hot and windless, taking in the Company Gardens, Greenmarket Square, Bo-Kaap and Long Street, complete with a look-in at the Wildlife Photography winners exhibition at the South African Museum.

And yesterday took us up in the cable car to the top of Table Mountain; down the Peninsula to Cape Point; with a stop-off at Klein Constantia wine estate and a walk around Wynberg Village before dropping in to say goodbye to my mother, and then rounding off Cynthia’s Southern African odyssey with a convivial dinner at Anatoli’s, the Turkish eatery in Green Point.

We have done the penguins at Boulders, and the winelands of Stellenbosch and Franschoek; we have trawled Kalk Bay for arts and crafts and views of the harbour; we have dined and breakfasted at the V&A Waterfront.

I am all tourist-guided out; ready to go home; ready to resume life as I normally know it, although now, I need hardly remind you, as a happy and shiny new husband. I hope Cynthia had a good time, saw what she wanted to see, and will take home a vision of Cape Town and this country of ours that she will treasure. I think she will.

And I hope my wife is happy and contented, too. I think she is.

Photos to follow.

