The wine tonight will be the Idiom cabernet sauvignon/merlot/cabernet franc 2006 – winner of a Decanter Magazine regional trophy, and Gold Medal winner at the 2009 Michelangelo International Wine Awards.

The cause for this celebration? Rob picked up her visa this afternoon, she is now legal till the end of next year, and she has the right to set up her own business, here in South Africa. Two days in to her new Soweto TV job, she has signed her contract and is legal to work.

I think that calls for a celebration, don’t you?

As for me, I received a letter yesterday from the Canadian consulate, about my application for permanent residence. They have waived an interview, but asked for some information, apparently missing, about previous jobs and addresses. I will deal with this tomorrow, and then – who knows?

Perhaps another bottle of good wine to be opened, somewhere down the track?

