My tax adviser has just confirmed my final tax bill.

I wrote back, ‘if only I was getting some value from my taxes – instead of having to pay twice, for private services that the public service doesn’t provide!’

The moral, not to mention legal, obligation to pay taxes is profoundly strained, when the reciprocal obligations of state and citizen become as lopsided as they are, in the ANC’s South Africa.

If it wasn’t for the contemporary (and revolting) American Republican connotation, I would be freely throwing suggestions around right now, for dumping tea overboard in Cape Town harbour!

No taxation without representation! No taxation without service delivery and accountability!

Oh, and never mind the tea, could someone please keep those thieving fingers out of the cookie jar!

