Friday in the Cape, after mid-week’s cold and rain, was a glorious parade of sunshine, blue skies,  serried mountains and tidy vineyards in their autumn robes. After back to back interviews at UCT all of Thursday, I took the car out to Stellenbosch for my one remaining interview – and by 11:30, according to a cunning plan, I had a few spare hours on my hands, to source a bottle of the 2007 Merlot Reserve from the Remhoogte Estate, on the hills above the town – one of only two Merlots to score 4 1/2 stars in the John Platter guide. The other, the 2007 Vergelegen Reserve Merlot, I had bought the weekend before, on a trip out into the countryside with Rob and my mom, on our way to some very fine, stylish dining at a new Stellenbosch restaurant, Casparus.

Remhoogte, Vergelegen and Casparus are all represented here, in a few shots from our travels;

together with photos of Kalk Bay harbour (where Rob and I had had fish and chips at Kalkies the previous Friday, after landing in Cape Town) and Lions Head looming above Camps Bay – my childhood home and still, somehow, a sign of homecoming.

By Friday evening, after lunch and a glass of sauvignon blanc at Avontuur, with a view towards distant Devils Peak and the back of the Table Mountain range, I was home in Johannesburg again. Rob, who had flown back on her own the previous Sunday, was there to greet me. We had been apart only a few hectic days – but to her surprise, she had missed me, I had missed her, and we discovered pretty quickly that it was pretty damned good to be together again.

This coming Thursday, Rob heads off for a two-week visit home to Toronto, and I shall be away in Durban on business from Wednesday to Saturday. So we are planning to throw some prawns onto the barbecue for lunch today, and spend a quiet afternoon together, after a busy weekend of chores and bustle. And Tuesday, we have decided, before I leave on my business trip, we shall take ourselves out for dinner.

Hard to say, which place is home, these days. Johannesburg, Cape Town, or Toronto? Or perhaps, it is quite simple, really. Home is where the heart is.

